Home | Evolution | Classification | Glossary | Biology | Behavior | Shark Repellent | Shark Conservation | Do's & Don'ts | Did You Know?

Classification of Sharks


Classification of Sharks-Jaw species
Sharks have lurked beneath the seas ever since life began moving. Through their survival and evolution, sharks have adapted to their ever-changing environment time and again and have developed themselves in various forms. Today, there are over 400 species of sharks known worldwide. Sharks are classified as follows:

  • Kingdom Animalia
  • Phylum Chordata
  • SubPhylum Vertebrata
  • Class Chondrichthyes (cartilaginous fish)
  • Subclass Plagiostomi (sharks and rays: upper jaw hung from skulls and different kind of blood)
  • Superorder Selachimorpha (sharks: free upper eyelids, gill openings on the head, and pectoral fins separate from the side of the head)
  • Subclass Elasmobranchii (upper jaw that is not fused to the braincase, no swim bladder, advanced electroreceptive system, a spiracle, skin with placoid scales, teeth modified placoid scales, and 5-7 separate slit-like gill openings on each side of the body: there are about 600 species of sharks, skates, and rays)


Order of sharks
Shark info Sheet
Sitemap | Reach To Us | Jimtrade - Business Directory of India